Board of Trustees

The Kansas Foundation for Medical Care (KFMC) prides itself on working with a diverse group of people who represent all aspects of healthcare from clinical to consumer. The KFMC Board of Trustees consists of multiple professional perspectives of healthcare which provides a dynamic and well-rounded group of thought leaders. Board members include:

Donna M. Bell (Vice Chair) – Lawrence, KS
Ms. Bell has more than 29 years of experience in the senior living industry. Her areas of focus include operations, marketing and human resources. She is currently the executive director at Brandon Woods at Alvamar.

Karen Braman, RPh, MS – President and CEO
Karen Braman leverages over 20 years of experience in health care, pharmacy and health policy in providing overall leadership and strategy for the Kansas Foundation for Medical Care (KFMC). Prior to joining KFMC, Ms. Braman led a team for one of the nation’s largest pharmacy benefit managers, supporting clinical benefits and formularies for Medicaid plans across multiple states. Additionally, she held a number of key health care positions during a ten year career with the State of Kansas, including in the Health Policy Authority, the Governor’s Office of Health Planning and Finance, and Medicaid. Ms. Braman has served as President of the Kansas Board of Pharmacy as well as Chair of the Kansas Health Information Exchange Board. She received both her Pharmacy degree and her Master of Science degree from the University of Kansas.

Jennifer Brull, MD (Immediate Past Chair) – Plainville, KS
Dr. Brull is a family medicine physician in solo practice in Plainville, Kan. This is her twelfth year of private practice in a rural area. She was the first physician to attest to Meaningful Use in Kansas and is a physician leader in electronic record adoption, change management and health information exchange. Special interests include quality improvement, social media and preventive medicine.

Robert H. Cox, MD, FAAP – Hays, KS
Dr. Cox is a retired pediatric physician and former KFMC medical director. His additional areas of interest included telemedicine. He currently serves on numerous community and state boards and committees.

Thomas A. Hintz, CPA, CPMA, PFS (Secretary/Treasurer) – Manhattan, KS
Mr. Hintz has more than 40 years of experience in auditing, tax and business consulting. He is currently involved in several organizations and boards in the Manhattan community.

John Jacobson – Atchison, KS
John Jacobson is currently CEO of Atchison Hospital in Atchison, Kansas, where he has served as CEO since 2004. Prior to joining Atchison Hospital, Mr. Jacobson was CEO of Lee’s Summit Hospital in Lee’s Summit, Missouri. He has spent many years in hospital management and holds a degree in Business Administration as well as a Master’s degree in Hospital Administration. Mr. Jacobson has served on the Kansas Hospital Association Board of Directors as well as the Regional Policy Board for the American Hospital Association.

Sandy Praeger – Lawrence, KS
Sandy Praeger was the Republican Kansas Insurance Commissioner from 2003 to 2015. She was first elected in 2002 and was re-elected in 2006 and 2010. Commissioner Praeger was responsible for regulating all insurance sold in Kansas and overseeing the nearly 1,700 insurance companies and 110,000 agents licensed to do business in the state. She demonstrated a passion for health reform as Insurance Commissioner, and during her time in the State Senate and House of Representatives, working on health reform and mental health parity. She is also past-president of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). As the chairwoman of the NAIC’s work on health reform, she led the process of writing the medical loss ratio regulation. Ms. Praeger is a longtime Kansas resident who lives in Lawrence, where she attended the University of Kansas and served as both Mayor and City Commissioner prior to being elected to the Kansas Legislature.

Martie Ross, JD – Overland Park, KS
Following a successful two-decade career as a healthcare transactional and regulatory attorney, Ms. Ross now serves as a trusted advisor to providers navigating the ever-expanding maze of healthcare regulations. Her deep and wide understanding of new payment and delivery systems and public payer initiatives is an invaluable resource for providers seeking to strategically position their organizations for the future. She can identify opportunities and develop realistic plans of action where others can only see obstacles, and is able to synthesize complex regulatory schemes and explain in straightforward and practical terms their impact on providers.

Ryan Spaulding, PhD (Chair) – Kansas City, KS
Dr. Spaulding is the Director of the Center for Telemedicine and Telehealth at Kansas University Medical Center and administers all telehealth projects, research activities and daily operations of the department. In this role, Dr. Spaulding establishes and implements the Center's clinical, educational and technological priorities for the provision of telemedicine service and health information technology (HIT) initiatives in Kansas communities. He serves as an Advisory Board member for the KUMC Center for Health Informatics. Dr. Spaulding received his PhD from the University of Kansas, and previously earned BS and MA degrees from Central Michigan University. He is a member of the American Telemedicine Association and the National Communication Association.

Charles VanHouden, MD, MMM – Chanute, KS
Dr. VanHouden is a general surgeon and Chief Executive Officer at the Ashley Clinic as well as the Chief Medical Officer for Neosho Memorial Regional Medical Center in Chanute, Kan. He has more than 30 years of clinical experience and serves on numerous boards affiliated with advancing the quality of health care.

Brian Wolfe, MD – Iola, KS
Dr. Wolfe is a family physician at The Community Health Center of Southeast Kansas in Iola with more than 30 years of experience in medicine. Brian is a member of the Allen County Regional Hospital Board of Directors and serves as Chairman of the Board of Directors for Thrive Allen County. Brian enjoys running, cycling, mountain climbing and woodworking. He and his wife, Susan Lynn publisher of The Iola Register, live in Iola and have six children between them.

Carla Yost, BSN, MHA, FACHE - Wichita, KS
Ms. Yost is the Chief Nursing Officer and Senior Administrator for Quality and Service at Via Christi Health in Wichita, Kansas. In her role, Ms. Yost provides strategic and clinical nursing direction and operational leadership for quality, safety and service. Prior to joining Via Christi Health Wichita, Ms. Yost served as Chief Operating Officer and Chief Nursing Officer for Via Christi Hospital in Manhattan, Kansas. She has achieved numerous accomplishments in quality, service and finance. Ms. Yost has 30 years of experience in leadership, nursing, quality and performance excellence.

Governing Body Information